//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Oneday style

In Italian, fare la bella figura, refers to a person’s approach to everyday. It encompasses all aspects of life from what you wear, to the ‘self’ that you present to the world, the choices you make, etiquette, and what you wear.

For me, clothes have always been about expression. I dress the way I feel. One adjective to describe my style? I can’t live within such confines!! Is that cliche? As a consolation, some of my latest favourite looks include: colour blocks (electric blue, fuchsia and orange); springtime florals; military tanks-tees-jackets. I love headbands – an obsession which started long before Blair Waldorf in Gossip Girl, I love wedges – especially a pair of chocolate brown silky ones I picked up at Zara Milan!

I don’t like pants. Not in the blase “I’m never wearing pants again, unless society demands it” way my American friend, Mallory, doesn’t like pants. I don’t have an issue if YOU decide to wear pants, but anything that covers my legs past my knees feels too restrictive. I wear them because its too freaking cold here to survive without covered legs! However, I feel like a fish out of water. As for Harry High-Pants, also known as high-waisted ANY PANTS, well they are just wrong. My apologies to the fashion power houses and the girls who think they look good, but these pants should have been left in the late 1700s. Also on the I don’t like list are special places reserved for animal print, drip-dyed fabrics, vinyl leggings, jeggings, culottes and ponchos.

There are plenty of “fashionable” items that I don’t understand, often these look terrible on me. My best friend and I used to sit at Chris’ Coffee in Manning, at Sydney Uni amazed by the combinations  what the girls wore. We often tried to imagine the lives they led or in other cases HOW THE HELL did they allow themselves to leave the house in that “outfit”.

So if my style is me, then what am I?

Crazy, cute, intellectual, spirited, party-goer, elegant, professional, athletic, sexy, young, fiesty, flirtatious, assertive, aggressive, determined, flowy, focussed, energetic, poetic, moody and plenty more

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Oneday style

  1. Oh you are so right, high waisted pants should never have crawled out of the fashion dungeon they were relegated to the last time around

    Posted by Liv | January 28, 2012, 6:22 pm
  2. Hrmm that was weird, my comment got eaten. Anyway I wanted to say that it’s nice to know that someone else also mentioned this as I had trouble finding the same info elsewhere. This was the first place that told me the answer. Thanks.

    Posted by Fashion Show | February 4, 2012, 2:08 am
  3. This is a really good read for me, Must admit that you are one of the best bloggers I ever saw.Thanks for posting this informative article.

    Posted by 2012 Hot Hairstyles | February 4, 2012, 2:13 am
  4. I can’t believe you don’t like jeggings they are so comfy and look great and would look particularly good on you bella!!

    Posted by Mel C | February 6, 2012, 10:39 pm

Leave a Reply

