//
you're reading...
Summer

Day 8: Letter to my diary

Dear diary, today I fell in love with a maxi.

Today’s onedaydress look: Mink pink check skirt from shopmarkethq.com**, Sportsgirl military green tank, black belt from random Hawaiian store, black Bizaar flats from Max’s shoes, Bondi Junction.

This post is a shout out to all my girls (especially Jo) who love their skirts and dresses maxed out.
As a shorter person, I often have difficulty finding maxis that fit around the curves and bumps of my body. Sometimes the back size is right but I end up with a wedding dress style train running behind me. Alternatively, the length is right but the top doesn’t fit over my shoulders OR the thing completely dwarfs me…sadface

Having read this article: http://www.fabsugar.com.au/Yes-Short-Girls-Can-Wear-Maxi-Skirts-Dresses-Heres-How-Master-Maxi-Lengths-Season-19154144, I’ve pulled out a few helpful hints to avoid looking like you are wearing a potato sack.

  1. Wear the skirt up on your waist or wear with a belt, making sure your ankles/feet are visible. Skirts worn on the hips tend to drop to the ground and shorten the appearance of your legs.
  2. Wear a tight tee, singlet or cami. A top that is bigger or loose overwhelms the skirt. TOO MUCH FLOW!!!
  3. Heels or wedges add height and extend your legs. YAY!
That’s all for today
K xx

**At Market HQ, they sell 30 brands, from vintage to rock/punk looks to flowy feminine frocks. I love this website and use it all the time to appease my shopping addiction

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

