//
you're reading...
Autumn

Day 26 – The job interview

Day 26

Amaaaaahzing shoes

Today’s onedaydress look: Dotti Skinny leg jeans, Bluejuice cami, Sportsgirl white shirt with orange collar, Steve Madden gold Kinnetic flats

I love the challenge of an interview. All the questions in your mind leading up to your appointment – What to wear? Are you qualified enough? Are you experienced enough? Will you fit in with the staff? Then you start thinking about the prospect of making some money (!!) and you begin thinking about everything you can achieve personally in the job, and everything you can spend your new found income on!

When I interviewed for my current job, I must admit I was petrified. It was my first interview for a teaching position and to be honest, I had it pretty easy. I had emailed the Principal a few times and I honestly believe that the job was mine before I arrived at the school. The interview was a formality to make sure I wasn’t insane. I say that because of the nature of the questions I was asked, the information I was given – “We have an holistic approach to classroom entry – students line up, teacher invites them in, teacher greets students, students respond, teachers asks students to sit, work begins – do you think you could cope with that?” It was the strangest interview I’ve ever had, and I walked out of it in a daze.

I’m also a fan of the informal interview. You know the ones where you go out for dinner, and it feels a bit like a first date, but you are sizing the other person up? Making sure they are normal? Last night I had an experience a bit like that. There are 2 people who I will be travelling with early next year. I have been speaking to them on the phone since October and we finally met yesterday. It was a mutual interview and we got along as if we had been friends for years. I am very much looking forward to travelling with them (and 40 members of my school community!!).

Rug up for the weekend kids, it looks like it’s going to be a cold one! Bring on the movies and hot chocolate

K xx

Discussion

One thought on “Day 26 – The job interview

  1. Feeling was mutual. It’s going to be a vey fun trip! Such a pleasure to meet you and A. and some of the school.
    I so agree with the interview outfit pressures – L and I were both worrying about what to wear – especially given the topic of your blog!
    Your recommendation for b’fast and coffee was highly appreciated, the Atlas motel was very comfortable, but we needed more than their cornflake and juice offering to sustain us for the long drive home.

    Posted by Philippa | March 3, 2012, 4:50 pm

Leave a Reply

