//
you're reading...
Winter

Day 86/87 – Is it always this hard?

Today’s onedaydress look: Steve Madden boots, Pimkie grey jeans, Miss Shop electric blue top, Paper Heart jacket, Cotton On red scarf

Coming back to school after a long weekend (Queen’s Birthday long weekend) is always so much harder…your body sees the extra day and slips into holiday mode. 

I convinced A to go away to Mudgee for a mini break, so after spending a night visiting his parents and some of our friends we hit up the little town in central western NSW. First stop the Butcher shop cafe, very very cool and it came highly recommended by Locky, it is a butchers shop that’s been converted into a cafe. Amazing service – we got our drinks within 5 minutes of ordering! And the food was incredible – I had a turkish bread sandwich with grilled chicken, mayo and lettuce and A had the skyscraper – as the waitress described the towering sandwich she lost me after the first 8 ingredients!

 We spent the afternoon on a vino tour. As I got on the bus I heard “Kate is that you”….small freaking world! It was Emma – a British girl I had been on exchange with in Italy six years ago! I was actually apprehensive of going on this tour. When A and I have been on other tours in the Hunter Valley and Barossa, we’ve ended up with busloads of older (40+) boozers and pretentious wannabe sommeliers. This tour was awesome, run by Brian Munns I had nothing to be worried about. Everyone was under 35, and not only did we have a cracking time tasting and travelling, we spent the whole night together dancing it up and chatting with bikies at the Brewery on Church St.

The following morning, feeling quite le-queasy and searching through my suitcase I did a double take, because I was sure I saw a face staring up at me from under my hairdryer…very calmly I turned to A and asked him to please remove the mouse from my bag. Then I went and sat in the middle of the bed shaking. HOW D-I-S-G-U-S-T-I-N-G, the stupid rodent had literally crawled into my bag and died. A laughed at me hysterically, as did my mother when I recounted the story later on.


Wine TourThe next morning for breakfast we happened on the Market Street Cafe, who serve meals made using only local produce. They only have 5 or 6 menu items and a whole lot of freshly baked muffins (fig followed by quince were brought out while we ate). I had the omelette, which sounded really great on paper – local eggs, greens, onion jam. I’m not sure if they put lettuce in my omelette intentionally, maybe they ran out of spinach and rocket…but there was carrot in there too…it was a bit weird and left me wondering if I should have stuck with scrambled eggs on sourdough! 

If Foodboozeshoes is thinking of exploration in the central west area – Mudgee is the place to go!! 

All the weekend fun made going back to work today so much harder!!

K xx

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

